Essential Home Repair Program

Who is Eligible:

Clayton County residents 62 years of age or older, disabled person or a veteran who have lived in their principal residence for the last 5 years. Participants must meet the household income requirement as determined by HUD guidelines.

What is the Essential Home Repair Program and the Emergency Home Repair Program?
The Essential Home Repair Program are federally assisted community development programs which provides limited financial assistance to make home repairs for qualifying Clayton County homeowners.

Open Enrollment is held annually on a first call first sever basis. We advertise in the local newspaper, the Clayton County website (News and Information) and flyers are distributed throughout the county at Recreation Centers, Library’s and Senior Centers.

Individuals may only apply during the open enrollment period. Qualified participants may apply once every five (5) years.

List of Eligible Repairs:

  • Roofing
  • Heating and Air Conditioning
  • Improperly Working Plumbing
  • Unsafe Electrical
  • ADA style accessibility items (i.e. ramps, grab bars)

Click here to view the home repair brochure

For more information:
Phone: 770-210-5208
TTY: 711